Ok. I like to rant...
There are lots of ways people like to get at students thinking they are pretty low on the food chain, like we are all lazy, alcoholics, wasting resources and stuff.. (least thats some of the theories I've heard..) Well I was just wanting to explain some of our side of the story, cause seriously? People need to get off my back! But, anyway, here's my explanations to students.
Resources
Students, nowadays, are told that we need to pay for a lot of our own supplies and thats for all courses ever invented ever, not just art. But art supplies, are some of the most expensive. So, see when you are moaning at me to buy bags of material, bottles upon bottles of paint, multiple sketchbooks, remember that I am not made of money, I do not have a money tree, no matter how much I wish such a thing would just exist.. *SIGH*
For places to work with bigger artworks we are completely limited, we can't exactly live in college to have some form of space to work at any hour we are struck by inspiration. My home was not made to give me copious amounts of space in which to work, so don't yell at me when all my work is like A3 or smaller. And also, in a house with other human beings there are many things you can not try, like sculpture, printing, certain types of painting... Even in college we can't do some things do to lack of supplies there even! Lets not expect me to do it at home ok?
Stress
Stress is very common among students, we are put under tremendous amounts of pressure and it generally causes us to snap one way or another. I mean, students, even high school students, end up with sleeping disorders, eating disorders, depression, etc. All because they are put under so much pressure from schools, colleges, unis, money, parents, teachers, friends, family. Furthermore, with like a third of all students going through depression at one point or another through education do not think for a second they haven't got hundreds of things going through their mind every second so when they tell you that, do NOT every think it isn't a serious thing, do not see it as an excuse.
Money/Jobs
Like I said, I don't have a money tree, so doing anything money related (which is basically everything these days, lets not lie) most students can't - or shouldn't - take part in. I, specifically, do not get the loan or the bursary from SAAS or the college itself. So to travel as far as I do for college comes out of my parents pocket, all because they wanted me to stay out of debt when I left.. Speaking of travel, yeah, that course is something I wanted and was one of the few places that actually accepted me but seriously understand that you are very far away and if I want to be there early I have to be up 3 hours before it starts cause I have 2 hours travel... Do not yell at me for being a few mins late. Ok, back on topic. They pay for my supplies and everything I need to do with college. Which is completely outstanding of them, I could not cope without this from them, and I thank them from the bottom of my heart, but they are not the only one paying for my life unfortunately. My friends, because I am the poorest of them all, have taken it upon themselves to buy my way when it comes to socialising. They pay for meals, they pay for nights out, drinks, entry fees.. I just hope they know how much I wish I could pay them back every cent tenfold! But I can't so I just cling to their coat tails like a mad pest. KNOW THAT I LOVE YOU ALL AND THANK YOU FROM THE BOTTOM OF MY HEART EVERY TIME YOU DO ANYTHING FOR ME!!
And I know I know, why don't you get a part time job? You could pay people back, pay for your own stuff, blah blah blah.. DON'T YOU THINK I HAVE TRIED STRANGER!? Part time jobs are incredibly hard to get, for me especially apparently. I know many people who have tried for years, applied to hundreds of jobs over and over again and still gotten nowhere, and guess what I am one of them. So the next time someone moans at me to get one, I might cut you.. Like seriously, run. Run far.
Time/Social Life
Ah, time... How I miss having some spare... Trying to fit in socialising (the free kind) into a life with a full time college course seems impossible to most students. Either you stay in forever and pass the course well, or you go out at the weekends and be a drunken virus and basically fail. The happy medium is what I wish I could achieve but for now I guess I will stick with the indoors. Lazing around in joggies while I think and draw and eat... Fat, nae makeup days = happy(ish) days.
Exposure
Ok, this may be more relevant for Art students or courses that go along with it, but most want to sell their work, gain exposure and earn some money off of their talent, but its soooooo difficult. Its so hard to find someone who isn't a dear old relative who is trying to be a wee sweetheart and buy all yer work. No, you want loads of folk to see your work and instantly know, thats yours! HOW DO WE GET THAT?! I would love to find out about galleries and stuff about here who take in students work to be sold or even just to show... Sadly, I know of none, and we are told of none, and any I ask say naw. Seriously, anyone knows any, HOOK A SISTA UP!... I can't pull that off, I'm sorry.
Even though I rant about everything and worry about everything, I love my course, I love the people, I love the place. There are just a few things that people have said to me over the last few years that have really gotten to me, and well now I have a blog, and blogs are an accepted place for thoughts, feelings and opinions.
I know it wasn't very art related but my blog is the "Blog Of An Art STUDENT" so... You get what you come for.